A confessional

I think I have a crafting addiction.

I have boxes of craft supplies, unfinished projects, books, and patterns.  They span several disciplines, including (but not limited to) knitting, crochet, spinning, jewelry making, wood carving, painting, sewing, rug hooking, and cross stitch.  I have a mental list of crafts I’d still like to try (soap making, glass blowing, stained glass…it goes on), or things that I’ve tried but would like to do more of if I had the means (blacksmithing, pottery).

I know I’m not alone in this one – I can think of at least two friends who are in the same boat.

We’re addicted to the idea of starting new projects, and learning new skills.  We conceal our craft purchases and free supply finds from our significant others.  We often lose focus once the project is no longer challenging or becomes repetitive.  I know I need a deadline to keep me on track for finishing a project.  I need to have the prospect of giving the thing that I lovingly made to a person I care about to give me the drive to complete it.

The problem comes in when you consider my living situation.  My crafting hoard is small compared to some I’ve seen, but even a small hoard is too big in a 900-square-foot condominium.  All those unfinished projects take up a lot of space, and space is at a premium.  I have a hard time getting rid of any of my projects, too.  I have an emotional connection with each one.  Getting rid of the supplies requires both breaking that tie, and admitting that I failed and I’m never going to finish it.  Mr. NV vocalizes his concern whenever I get a new crafting idea into my head (which happens pretty often).  In his mind I think he pictures us being swept away in a tsunami of fabric, yarn, and beads.

Thankfully for poor Mr. NV, RuRu keeps me in check.  I don’t add a lot of new crafts in because I know that I won’t have time to finish them (or even start most of them).  My mat leave pay also makes it tricky to obtain supplies, and I can’t justify purchasing supplies that are going to sit in a closet for years.

One day, though, I plan on starting my crafting empire.  Thanks, IfByYes, for kicking in the first bits of fabric!  I promise I’ll put it to good use.

6 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    IfByYes said,

    I’m an enabler! Woohoo!

  2. 3

    Aims said,

    hahaha! You were totally referring to me, weren’t you? lol I do have a problem and I too have a list in my head of so many more things I want to try. One day, you and I will have a fabulous crafting empire together where we can make space for other people to create which will earn us money plus will make available to us every type of equipment we could possibly want to work with. 🙂 That is the dream. At least a small part of it, anyway.

    When I packed up my house, I chose to part with a stone carving that I started about 6 years ago but never finished. It was very sad and hard to do, so I definitely understand the emotional ties you have to your projects. One thing that helped me was to take many pictures of it so that if I wanted to try to recreate it, I could.

    Anyway, love the posts. Keep em coming!

    • 4

      Lol… Maybe a little!

      I’ll keep the photo thing in mind. I’ve used that for finished projects, but never unfinished ones. It’s a bit harder with unfinished projects that aren’t started, though. Somehow I think a photo of a garbage bag of raw wool is not going to help me recreate anything 😛

      This dream sounds amazing, however you have to come home first 🙂

  3. 5

    Aims said,

    I can’t yet say where my forever home will be, but you better believe I will find time for you and our goals wherever we each end up. 🙂


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment